Cat Biscuits ◊ Recipe

FullSizeRender


IMG_4042

IMG_4051

IMG_4052


I recently watched Zoella’s new video about pug shaped biscuits and it inspired me to create something like them.

I thought to myself, what occasion is coming up that I can make something like this. I looked in my cookie cutter draw (yes I do have a cookie cutter draw) and found a cat shape. Black cats, black cats…nearly October…hmmm. By joves I think I’ve got it! My kitten’s one month birthday!

My cat (Slim Shady) had three kittens on the 19th of August. It is a was a month on Wednesday so I decided to make some celebratory biscuits.

I really love this recipe because the biscuits taste a little bit like shortbread! Mmmmmm….


To make the biscuits you will need:

150g Butter, softened

50g Icing sugar

230g Plain flour (plus some for rolling)

A cookie cutter of your choise (I chose a cat [obviously])

2 baking trays, lined with baking paper

Makes around 19


Method:

  1. Put the butter in a bowl and stir until smooth.
  2. Sift in the icing sugar and stir.
  3. Sift in the flour and stir with a wooden spoon.
  4. Use your hands to squish the mixture together into a ball.
  5. Wrap the dough in clingfilm flatten it a bit and put it in the fridge for 45 minutes.
  6. While you are waiting preheat your oven to180°, 350°F, gas mark 4
  7. Put flour on your surface and roll out the dough with a rolling pin.
  8. Cut out shapes about 5mm thick.
  9. Place all shapes on your baking tray and cook in the oven for 10-12 minutes (until golden around the edges).
  10. Leave to cool on the tray for 2 or 3 minutes.
  11. Move them to a cooling wrack and leave to cool.

For the icing you will need:

125g Icing sugar

1 Medium egg white

1/2 teaspoon Vanilla extract

1 teaspoons water (more as you go)

Food colouring of your choice (optional)

Piping bag/bottle


To make the Icing:

  1. Sift the icing sugar into a bowl.
  2. Add the vanilla extract.
  3. Add the water and stir in.
  4. Add your colouring (or just keep it white).
  5. To test your icing is ready by dripping it into the bowl and seeing if the ribbons of liquid disappear into the mixture (not too quickly though, or it will run off the biscuits).
  6. Pour the mixture into your piping instrument and follow the outline of your shape with a small gap from the edge so it doesn’t run off.
  7. Fill in the inside of the biscuit.
  8. I put some little silver balls on some of mine for eyes but you can do any decoration you like.

IMG_4043

IMG_4050


IMG_4004


FullSizeRender


One thought on “Cat Biscuits ◊ Recipe

Leave a Reply

