All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven ◊ Book Review


The time has come for another book review. This last book I read was ‘All The Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven. I REALLY loved this book; it was sad, heartwarming, heartbreaking, funny, sweet and made me cry and…you get the idea. It was great.

There are two main characters which the story follows; Violet Markey and Theodor Finch. Finch is facinated by death and thinks of many ways he might kill himself. However, Violet, on the other hand thinks more about the future. These two very different characters first meet on top of the bell tower at their school, when they are both feeling suicidal and thinking about jumping. Both characters have tragedies in their past which you learn more and more about as the book progresses. I don’t want to spoil it so I will stop now.

One reason I love this book so much is because there are so many different genres. If you are indecisive (like me) and can’t pick just one, this book combines lots so you don’t have to decide which one is your favorite! There is romance, comedy, tragedy, drama. I said there was loads, there are four main ones…

It might just be me, but I like when books make me cry. Not that I particularly like crying, the red puffy eyes and running nose isn’t my best look. However, it’s nice sometimes just to let all you emotions out through your eyes. You know? This book was great at that. Niven tackles the difficult topic of mental illness so well. So well in fact, that I couldn’t sleep the night that I finished it, as my brain was just wurring away taking it all in.

I would SO recommend you read this, it was so eye opening and I couldn’t put it down (which is a good sign, as I’m not great at finishing books…). I am very keen to read some of Jennifer Niven’s other books as her style of writing is wonderful. I can honestly say, this book has changed me and the way I think.

4-star-rating

 

One thought on “All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven ◊ Book Review

Leave a Reply

