Life is What Happens While You Are Busy Making Other Plans

I have no idea what I want to do with my life. It’s kind of stressing me out.

Teachers are beginning to ask what our plans are for after sixth form, but I really have no idea. When you are unsure about your future plans, teachers will often offer you a careers appointment. A few months ago I agreed to one of these appointments (I say ‘agreed’, they pretty much just told me I needed one). I got sent the date and time that my appointment would take place. When I arrived at the small soundproof room with a glass wall in our library, I was met with the careers advisor. She showed me some university prospectuses and discussed other routes I could take instead of uni if I wanted. However, I have to say, this appointment didn’t do me much good. All I gained was a website to look up universities (which isn’t very helpful when you don’t know what course you want to do). However, if I did have an idea, I’m sure this meeting would have been a lot more helpful to me.

When completing my GCSEs, we studied our subjects for two years and then took our exams. However, we have only been studying A and AS levels for one year. For this reason, I don’t really feel like I’m actually taking real-life proper exams. Also, because of this I don’t feel like I need to be thinking about my future plans.

I hear people saying ‘I’m going to go to this foreign country for my gap year to do charity work with children in poverty. Then I’m doing this course for one year, then moving onto this other course. After that I’m going to try and get a job with these people after I have traveled round the world three times, create world peace and run the five marathons I have been training for’. Or something like that. However, my list of goals consists of adopting five cats. That’s it. That’s all that is on my list.

I’m sure I will come up with a plan sooner or later… Or I will just ‘go with the flow’ and see what feels right. Haha, who am I kidding? Have you seen my ridiculously long to-do list on the notes app on my phone? You expect me to go with the flow? Anyway, I will always keep blogging (even if it isn’t consistent) and when I do come to a sudden realisation about my future, I’m sure you will be the first to know.

There’s no such thing as too long a list. Is there?

2 thoughts on “Life is What Happens While You Are Busy Making Other Plans

Leave a Reply

