17 Things I Have Learned in 17 Years

I turn 17 this Tuesday the 11th of July. I have seen this post done by others many times – where you write a number of life-lessions you’ve learned correlating with your age – so I decided I would do my own version. This is kind of a mixture between a ’17 Things’ and a ‘Message to my Younger Self’ post.

Number 1: Never grow up. I am 17 years old (almost), but I can still run around with my younger sister and cousins, and feel as though I am a child. There is no reason for me to grow up. I mean, I know I have to be sensible sometimes. However, if I want to run around a carpet/bed store playing hide and seek by sticking myself between two enormous rolls of carpet and throwing myself down between some beds with my sister, I still can. People often say, “oh, you probably don’t want to play in that park with your 9 year old cousins and sister. You’re too old”. But guess what, I really do. I love playing games like ‘Round the Garden’, ‘Hide and Seek’ and ‘Stuck in the Mud’. I’m not saying that I act like a child all the time (although, I would love to throw tantrums in the middle of supermarkets) and I really appretiate being treated like a grown-up by teachers and other people, but I do want to go and play on that tire swing, instead of sitting on this bench. I have no idea if anyone knows what I am rambling on about or feels this way too.

Number 2: Don’t compare yourself to other people. This is so cliché, but so true. I am lying a bit here. This isn’t somthing I have learned in my 17 years, I am still trying to learn this now. I constantly compare myself to everyone and anyone even though I know there is no point, as I just end up feeling bad about myself. But I’m working on this.

Number 3: Enjoy life when it’s easy. I spent my time in year 7, 8 and 9 worrying about everything (when I didn’t need to). Then GCSEs hit, then ‘A’ levels. BAM! Then life gets hard (I don’t even want to think about a degree). Try to enjoy the cushy times, they don’t last long.

Number 4: No matter how many people tell you how nice they are (and how many times you try them), you will never like asparagus. You’re just not an ‘asparagus girl’. That sounds like the most lame super hero name ever.

Number 5: You are good at things. Maths just isn’t that thing. Throughout the first few years of Secondary school, I thought I was awful at maths. I mean, I was, but that’s not the point. You are good at other things and you ended up with 8As, a B and a C at GCSE. So stop doubting yourself.

Number 6: Leading on from GCSEs, all that revision will be worth it. Just keep going.

Number 7: Maybe don’t start making YouTube videos until you have a little knowledge of how to use a camera and how to edit. Although, it has resulted in some cringy but hilarious privated videos.

Number 8: Starting up a blog was one of the best decisions you ever made. I know it seems hard work and your first few posts are cringeworthy as hell, but you will get better and have a lot of fun in the process. Also, do start occasionally vlogging even though you are terrified people from your school will watch them.

Number 9: Wearing those bright pink chinos with colourful tops didn’t look good. You thought it did when you were twelve. It didn’t. Luckily your style has evolved since then.

Number 10: Be unapologetic of who you are. In younger years at school, you embraced your quirky side. You expressed you strange love for My Little Pony and Disney. However, when you get older you realise/think it isn’t ‘socially acceptable’ to express your obsessesions with things like Sherlock, Zelda and Marvel. You get very passionate very quickly about things, it’s just who you are. So do wear that ‘GCPD’ jumper or ‘Rick and Morty’ t-shirt to school. And don’t put away your little figurine of ‘Jessica Jones’ and 1:6 scaled replica of 1940’s Captain America shield when your friends come round. They can like it or lump it.

Number 11: Eyebrows are good. I have zero eyebrows (they’re very pale). I didn’t realise how much better I looked until I started filling them in. Filling them in is now a necessity.

Number 12: Don’t hold boiling hot mugs of hot chocolate when you are watching a movie that will make you jump. Trust me, it’s as bad as it sounds.

Number 13: Stop being paranoid. Teachers tell you that you are going to fail all of your exams. So you will end up with no qualifications, an addiction to buying cats and have to live in a skip for the rest of your life. They aren’t talking to you, just the lazy people who don’t revise. It will scare the living daylights out of you though.

Number 14: The next thing I have learnt is that I obviously haven’t learnt very much in my 17 years as it is really hard for me to think of any more points.

Number 15: You don’t hate reading. You’re just reading the wrong books.

Number 16: Don’t gloat over your sister’s slow-healing ear-piercings (when yours healed very quickly when you were her age). Because when you get a second set of piercings at 16, it will take months and months to heal (and still haven’t) and a world of pain.

Number 17: You are a Ravenclaw. Ravenclaw isn’t lame, it’s the best house.

 

Leave a Reply

