Exam Conditions

I have just finished my first week of mocks. Hooray! But I have another lot next week *goes and cries in the corner*. I need to get a few things off my chest, and where better to do that than on the Internet!

Okay first, why do they make the exam hall so frickin’ cold? They want you to write a three page English essay in an hour, but you can’t concentrate because you are shivering like mad…or as my friend said, ‘shaking like a brick’. How can they expect me to find a quadratic equation if my eye balls are turning into ice cubes? It is so cold in there that I resorted to wearing a long sleeve t-shirt under my polo shirt.

Secondly, they said you can have a clear drink bottle. I had a see-through purple bottle and I got told off for it. I mean, did they specify that it couldn’t be coloured? No. Plus scientifically, my bottle is clear, it’s just not colourless. So BOOM exam board, get your facts straight! I am getting a bit carried away here…

Also, because I am right at the back of the middle row, there is an examiner right behind me. Like so close I can feel them breathing down my neck. Well maybe not that close, but you get my point! Also, when the examiner is looking over my shoulder I am thinking to myself, ‘JUST LEAVE ME ALONE! Can you not see that I am trying to work out the average temperature from a histogram, IDIOT?!’.

Another thing I find frustrating is, when you look up from your desk to regroup and you see EVERYONE scribbling away, but you can’t think of anything else you need to write about. And when you do look up, all of the examiners look at you like you are going to cheat, when all you are doing is giving your eyes a change of scenery from your blank piece of paper.

We had a briefing on the mocks. I am not really sure what the point of the briefing was (if not to freak us out by saying that if we don’t do well in these mocks it will have a knock on affect resulting in us failing our lives). These aren’t even mocks of our GCSEs, they are mocks of mocks of GCSEs.

So that is everything I hate about mock exams. And If you have mocks coming up soon, I wish you the best of luck. 😉


13 thoughts on “Exam Conditions

  1. Keep plodding , you can do this . And remember that all of those little frustrations at the time are material for your blog – they’re doing you a favour 😉 x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You’d love the American method. They have exams at the end of June, and most schools don’t have air conditioning so you are sweating bullets to the point of being itchy. Watch what you wish for you just might get it.
    On a brighter note, they still sit us down before the exams and use terms like “permanent record” to remind us that if we fail, we better get good at robbing gas stations, because it will be the career that your guidance councilor will be discussing with you at the beginning of next year. (my oldest son has already invested in lock picking tools!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment