Exam Conditions ◊ Part 3

quadratic-completing-the-square.jpg

We have just finished the final set of mocks before our actual exams. So, what other way to celebrate than to moan about them (’cause you know, that’s what I do on this blog!)? These mocks were only ‘the most important subjects’ which are apparently maths and English. If you you want to hear me moan about the first two sets of mocks, the year 10 mocks are here and the year 11 ones are here.

For a question in my non-calculator paper I had to complete the square. I say that, I really had no idea what it was asking me to do. Anyway, once I got home I researched quadratic equations and how to solve them by completing the square. Here is what I was faced with:- Step 1: Divide all terms by the coefficient of x^2. Step 2: Move the number term to the right side of the equation. Step 3: Complete the square on the left side of the equation and balance this by adding the same value to the right side of the equation. Easy right?! How could I not have got that in the actual exam? I mean, duh!

You know how the examiners make it very clear that you mustn’t have your phone on in an exam? Like, if you are caught with your phone, it is confiscated and you are disqualified from the exam? Yes? Well, after enforcing this rule, our examiner’s phone went off half way through the exam. To make matters worse she then proceeded to check her phone whilst everyone in the room watched in horror.

What I would like to know is, how is all this knowledge going to benefit me in later life? Finding the nth term of linear sequences seems important now, but how helpful am I going to find it when I am trying to pay my bills in the future?  This could possibly be the final part of the ‘Exam Conditions’ post series *wipes tears away*. Well, until the actual exams in May. ‘Exam Conditions Part 4’ here I come!

 


One thought on “Exam Conditions ◊ Part 3

Leave a comment